Modified Lady’s Kisses: because reading recipes start to finish is essential!

First thing first: The real Lady’s Kisses have nothing to do with cookies in the picture I posted. I come from the land where Baci di Dama (the Italian name for these cookies) were born and I can tell what I baked is nowhere near…:D

That said, the story of these Modified Lady’s Kisses started two days ago when a friend of mine told me last cookies I baked (Choco Almonds Horns) looked like the ones from a pastry shop. So I thought it would have been challenging to see if also my home made Lady’s Kisses would have looked as good. Between a thousand recipes I chose the one from Martha Stewart book ‘Cookies’…Yeah ok, I should have known better: it’s like asking an Italian to make Banana Bread or Carrot cake. But my unfailing trust in her made me think it was a good idea! I started whisking eggs whites, stirring cocoa, sugar and almonds…and then I thought: ‘Where’s the flour?…and BUTTER???!!!’. With my big surprise there was no butter in the recipe. No Sir. Not even a spoonful…I suddenly realized what I was baking sounded more like a meringue with some almonds in it. But I was already half way, so I decided to go on. I opted for a different filling to add a twist (and basically cause I had to kill those 10 strawberries I had in the fridge). Beside my personal odissey, I would say they turned out really good and matched perfectly with the strawberry cream cheese filling, but Lady’s Kisses are far cry from them. Never mind, I’ll try a different recipe soon!

Image

Ingredients

For the cookies:

– 2 large egg whites
– 1 cup sugar
– 1/4 cup unsweetened Dutch process cocoa powder
– 1 1/2 medium-finely ground blanched almonds

For the filling:

– 4 ounces cream cheese, room temperature
– 1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar
– 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
– 8-10 strawberries (or same weight in raspberries)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 325 F. Line a baking sheet with parchment.
  2. Make cookies: Place egg whites in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the whisk attachment. Beat on high speed until egg whites form stiff peaks . Add the sugar slowly; continue beating until egg whites are very thick, 2 to 3 minutes (adding a pinch of salt at the beggining usually helps to have a thicker result). Beat in cocoa until combined. Stir in almonds; mix until completely blended. Batter should be quite thick and sticky.
  3. Transfer to a heavy pastry bag fitted with a 1/2-inch sound tip (I used Ateco #846, but it is up to you). Pipe teaspoon-size, peaked mounds onto baking sheets lined with parchment paper, spacing about 2 inches apart.
  4. Bake until slightly cracked, 15-17 minutes, rotating sheers halfway through. Let cool on sheets several minutes, then transfer to a rack to cool completely.
  5. Make the filling: Place cream cheese in a medium mixing bowl. Soften cream cheese beating. Sift in confectioners’ sugar, and continue beating until smooth. Add vanilla, and stir to combine.
  6. Chop strawberryes and fold them in to the cream cheese. Gently stir them with a spatula.
  7. Turn half the cookies over, bottom side up; dollop each with about 1 teaspoon chilled cream-cheese filling. Top with remaining cookies, pressing gently to spread filling to edges.
Leave a Reply

I Need a Feed!

“Food is symbolic of love when words are inadequate.” -Alan D. Wolfelt

Fiesta Friday

Food + Friends = Fun

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

ice cream magazine

................... for lovers of ice cream. Your free on line magazine for sweet frozen treats. Recipes, inspiration, artisanal ideas for your delectation.

LondonEats

Adventures in a South London kitchen and musings on all things edible in this great city and beyond

The Musical Poet

Stories (and songs) from my heart

TYPICAL MUSE

where parenting meets travel

Baking with Gab

Adventures in Baking

thebrookcook

If I knew you were coming I'd have baked a cake...

MIRIAM NICE

happily cooking somewhere. . . with or without a kitchen!

DomestiKatedLife

A Boston-Based Lifestyle Blog

whole food runner

Long time runner, recent vegetarian, forever chocoholic

Much a Munch

Living. Loving. Munching - A Sydney Food Blog

southern belly

cook. writer. southerner.

Mama's Gotta Bake

she's bad, she's bold...and she likes sugar

100 Days Of Evelyn

Dessert recipes, tutorials and photography

Bunz Makes

One girl's adventures into baking, crochet and other crafty endeavours...

